A Brief Introduction to Tzu-Chi Dialysis Centre

Buddhist Tzu-Chi Merits Society Malaysia set up its first Dialysis Centre in Penang at Jalan Gottlieb in August 1997. Five years later, a second and third centre followed suit in Jitra, Kedah and Bagan Ajam, Butterworth, respectively, to give hope to more poor and needy patients with free dialysis treatment.

How it all started
The original decision to set up a Tzu-Chi Dialysis Centre came about because of the volunteers’ compassion in the face of human suffering. As the care recipients under the local chapter increased, the volunteers realized the inter-connectedness of poverty and sickness. Among the sick under their care, were a number who needed dialysis treatment in order to live. The expensive treatment was beyond the ability of a poor person to bear. The courageous undertaking to address this issue had the blessings of Master Cheng Yen and, consequently, Tzu-Chi Dialysis Centre, Malaysia became the first Tzu-Chi medical set-up outside Taiwan. Its mission is to safeguard Life, Health and Love.

 

The first to offer totally free dialysis
The cost of a single dialysis session is RM135 and is done 3 times per week with additional EPO (Erythropoeitin) injection for anaemia which cost RM 60. The total monthly dialysis expenditure could be as much as RM 2,500 to RM 3000. Tzu Chi was the first dialysis centre to offer free dialysis out of 680 dialysis centers in Malaysia which cover free dialysis, EPO injection, Blood Tests and regular specialist check-up for all patients irrespective of race, religion or creed. Average monthly operating expenses of Tzu-Chi dialysis centres come up to RM350,000, not factoring in the cost of dialysis machines. Presently the three Tzu-Chi dialysis centres operate 46 dialysis machines, employ 42 medical staff and provide service to 176 dialysis patients. On the waiting list are another 148 patients whose dialysis treatments elsewhere are being subsidised by Tzu-Chi.

 

Turn garbage into gold and gold into loving kindness
November 1996 saw the commencement of Tzu-Chi fundraising efforts with the volunteers kindness and compassion and the support of the public, after which it was a test of endurance and courage for Tzu-Chi people. Apart from receiving the kind donations, volunteers were constantly thinking up ways to solicit more funds. ‘Turn garbage into gold and gold into loving kindness’ was the call for recycling efforts which led Tzu-Chi people into streets and homes, undaunted, looking for materials to recycle. The ‘white-clouds and blue-skies’ uniforms became a familiar sight. Money derived from recycling paid for one third of the operating monthly expenses.

 

Professionalism and Humanity
Tzu-Chi people owed a sacred duty of care to the funds collected so that they may be put to the best use. The staff of Tzu-Chi infused their sense of mission with professionalism as a result of which the Penang centre endeavoured towards ISO Certification in July 2002. In 2005, Butterworth and Kedah centre followed suit. This is to ensure that only the best service is given to the patients. ISO9001 achievement has since been recertified for the three centres come July every year.

Under the guidance of Master Cheng Yen, the three dialysis centres ensure that a good and warm environment exist, such that the staff, nurses, volunteers and patients are like one family.

In the centres the patients are very fortunate to enjoy the nurses’ love and care as well as the encouragement of their fellow patients. They are also exposed to Master Cheng Yen’s discourses through DaAi TV and hopefully they may see through their problems and worries and one day, even become volunteers themselves.

 

CKD (Chronic Kidney Disease) Screening and Awareness Program
At Tzu-Chi Dialysis Centre, emphasis is given to the prevention of kidney failure before the need for dialysis arises. In 2009, a department was set up to educate people on the health of our kidneys, as a measure to avoid having to undergo eventual dialysis.

Presently this care is given to those with a higher risk of kidney failure such as the immediate family members of the dialysis patients, the reason being similar life-style, food or even genetical factors.

Nurses in charge make a few basic tests in the blood and urine samples for diabetes, cholesterol, body mass index and blood pressure. After comparing the test results to the norm, they follow up with advices in food and life-style. Any serious deviations are quickly monitored and addressed.

 

Future prospects for patients
According to the Malaysian national statistics report up to the end of 2010, Malaysia has some 23,000 dialysis patients, and since 2007 new dialysis patients average an increase of 4,000 annually. This prompted Tzu-Chi to undertake the construction of a new six-storey dialysis centre which will house over 100 dialysis machines. The expected date of completion of this project is by the year 2014.
民調問答 Polls

您喜歡的捐款方式
Your Preferred Donation Method

Loading ... Loading ...

慈濟洗腎中心簡介

佛教慈濟洗腎中心,是由佛教慈濟基金會馬來西亞分會所創辦。第一間洗腎中心設立在檳城州檳島歌德路(Jalan Gottlieb),於1997年8月啓用; 5年後,第二、第三間洗腎中心分別在吉打州日得拉鎮(Jitra)和檳城州威省北海峇眼亞占(Bagan Ajam)加入服務行列,為更多貧困腎臟衰竭病患帶來希望。

成立緣起
建設慈濟洗腎中心的初發心,源自於慈濟志工一念「不忍眾生受苦難」的悲憫心。隨著濟貧個案逐年增加,志工們發現病乃貧之主因,患病照顧戶之中,多數需要以洗腎延續生命。洗腎費用不菲,不是一般貧困家庭所能承擔;當地洗腎中心的成立,亦遠遠趕不上洗腎病患的增長速度。於是,在志工們的勇於承擔之下,證嚴法師再次應允,馬來西亞佛教慈濟洗腎中心因此成為臺灣慈濟海外第一所醫療志業機構,成為守護生命、守護健康、守護愛的磐石。

 

首家全免洗腎服務

每位腎友一次的洗肾的费用是135令吉,補血針60令吉,每星期3次計算的話,每月的費用至少2500至3000令吉。慈濟是全國超過680所洗腎中心首家提供全免服務,包括免費洗腎、免費補血針、免費驗血,以及由專科醫生免費進行檢驗。慈濟洗腎中心每個月的日常運作費用大約350,000令吉(不包含購買洗腎機)。目前,慈濟3間洗腎中心合共有46台洗腎機、42名醫護人員,以及176名腎友,另外,有148名腎友還在等候名單中,部份等待名單中的病患也獲得慈濟提供洗腎津貼,以減輕病患的負擔。

 

垃圾變黃金 黃金變愛心
自1996年11月開始發動籌募基金,慈濟人的善心即獲得各界機構和社會民眾的熱烈響應。洗腎中心正式啓用後,則考驗著慈濟人長跑的耐力。除了繼續接受社會各階層的愛心款項,志工們也主辦了各種定期或大型籌募活動,其中以「垃圾變黃金,黃金變愛心」為口號的資源回收活動,讓慈濟人走遍大街小巷、平民組屋,風雨無阻揮汗整理回收物資,「藍天白雲」的制服身影形象深入民心。資源回收和義賣會所得善款至今仍支撐著三家洗腎中心三分之一的營運開銷。

 

醫療專業與人文
在各界的愛心投注之下,慈濟洗腎中心同仁提起了使命,務必讓來自十方的善款發揮最大的功能。為了提升專業醫療品質,檳城慈濟洗腎中心毅然申請國際標準組織品質管理系統評鑑,於2002年7月正式通過。2005年,北海和吉打洗腎中心亦加入,三家洗腎中心一起通過評鑑。自此至今,全體同仁仍然堅持為腎友提供最好的服務,每年7月三家洗腎中心都通過ISO9001重新評鑑(recertification)。

在證嚴法師的理念領導之下,洗腎中心全體同仁極力塑造友善祥和的醫療人文環境,同仁、護士、志工和腎友之間的相處,就如一家人般溫馨。

在慈濟洗腎中心接受血液透析治療的腎友是幸福的,有護士們無微不至的照顧,也有腎友之間的互相加油打氣,更重要的是可以通過大愛台恭聽證嚴法師的開示,解開心中的抑鬱與煩惱,進而加入志工行列。

 

腎臟保健計劃
慈濟洗腎中心不只提供洗腎服務,同時也在2009年開始推行腎臟保健計劃,以提高民眾對腎臟保健的意識,避免他們走入終身洗腎的不歸路。

目前腎臟保健計劃主要關懷對象為腎臟病高危險群,也就是腎友家屬,原因是腎友家屬有着相近的生活習慣,有可能因不良生活習慣而引發腎臟病。

慈濟洗腎中心的腎臟保健衛教護士一般會通過基本健康檢查,包括尿蛋白、尿血、血糖、血壓、膽固醇、體積指數等,讓對方瞭解腎臟情況,並提供專業保健諮詢。篩檢一旦發現有異常超標現象,慈濟護士將進行長期關懷與追踪。

 

未來展望 更多腎友受惠
根據大馬腎臟登記局(NRR)的年度彙報,截至2010年底,大馬共有逾2萬三千洗腎人口,然而從2007年至2010的報告顯示,每年新增洗腎案例有逾4000病患接受洗腎。有鑑於此,為了應付日益攀升的洗腎人口,檳城慈濟洗腎中心籌劃的六層樓、可容納一百零八台洗腎機的大型洗腎中心已經動工,預計將在2014年竣工遷入。
民調問答 Polls

您喜歡的捐款方式
Your Preferred Donation Method

Loading ... Loading ...